Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Defy the Night
Cover of Defy the Night
Defy the Night
Defy the Night Series, Book 1
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Instant New York Times Bestseller! From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes a blockbuster fantasy series, perfect for fans of Holly Black and Victoria Aveyard, about a kingdom...
Instant New York Times Bestseller! From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes a blockbuster fantasy series, perfect for fans of Holly Black and Victoria Aveyard, about a kingdom...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Instant New York Times Bestseller!

    From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes a blockbuster fantasy series, perfect for fans of Holly Black and Victoria Aveyard, about a kingdom divided by corruption, the prince desperately holding it together, and the girl who will risk everything to bring it crashing down.
    Apothecary apprentice Tessa Cade is tired of seeing her people die. King Harristan and his cruel brother, Prince Corrick, ignore the suffering of their people and react mercilessly to any sign of rebellion, even as a sickness ravages the land. That's why she and her best friend Wes risk their lives each night to steal the petals of the delicate Moonflower, the only known cure. But it's not enough to keep everyone she loves safe-or alive.
    When Prince Corrick commits an act of unspeakable cruelty, Tessa becomes desperate enough to try the impossible: sneaking into the palace. But what she finds there makes her wonder if it's even possible to fix their world without destroying it first.
    Brigid Kemmerer's captivating new series is about those with power and those without . . . and what happens when someone is brave enough to imagine a new future.

About the Author-

  • Brigid Kemmerer is the author of the New York Times bestselling Cursebreaker series, which includes A Curse So Dark and Lonely, A Heart So Fierce and Broken, and A Vow So Bold and Deadly. She has also written the contemporary young adult romances Call It What You Want, More Than We Can Tell, and Letters to the Lost, as well as paranormal young adult stories, including the Elemental series and Thicker Than Water. A full-time writer, Brigid lives in the Baltimore area with her family.
    brigidkemmerer.com
    @BrigidKemmerer

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    July 15, 2021
    The only effective treatment for the lethal fever that plagues Kandala is a potion derived from the rare Moonflower. Medicine is allocated to each sector of the kingdom by the decree of King Harristan, but the supply is limited. Thieves, smugglers, and black marketeers are subject to punishment and execution overseen by the cruel Prince Corrick in his role as the King's Justice. Like many in Kandala, Tessa Cade loathes the king and his younger brother for ignoring the plight of those who cannot afford treatment. With the help of her close friend Weston, the 18-year-old apothecary's assistant steals Moonflower petals from the wealthy and makes potions to distribute among the poor. Soon after Wes is caught by the night patrol, Tessa is presented with an opportunity to sneak into the palace. She enters with the intention of taking a sample of the palace's potent Moonflower elixir only to be captured and brought before Prince Corrick, who, Tessa discovers, might not be as heartless as she originally believed. The slow-burn romance--between an idealist with straightforward moral beliefs and a pragmatist trapped by duty--will keep the pages turning, as will the scheming of the king's consuls and the rebellion brewing in the background. Tessa and Corrick are cued White; other characters' skin colors range from beige to deep brown. The personal and the political intertwine in this engaging series opener. (map, cast of characters) (Fantasy. 13-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    August 2, 2021
    A new series starter from Kemmerer (A Curse So Dark and Lonely) centers on an illness that divides the kingdom of Kandala into those who can afford the Moonflower petal elixir that keeps the deadly fever at bay and those who cannot. By day, 18-year-old Tessa Cade, whose parents were killed by the King’s night patrol, is an assistant apothecary; by night, though, she is a masked outlaw stealing petals to make elixirs for the poor. When Tessa’s accomplice, Weston Lark, is killed by Prince Corrick, the King’s Justice, she sneaks into King Harristan’s palace for revenge. Discovered, Tessa bargains for her life with her knowledge of potions, assisting 19-year-old Prince Corrick in tracing the fever’s trajectory. Political intrigue flourishes as the royal brothers battle outsider rebels and scheming counsels; Kemmerer presents intense moments of torture amid scenes rich with covert power plays and swoon-worthy romantic dialogue, and the positioning of Tessa as peacekeeper and nurse conforms to gender stereotypes. Switching between the perspectives of Tessa and Prince Corrick, the expansive plot promises a commanding sequel. Main characters are assumed white; many secondary characters are described as having dark skin. Ages 13–up. Agent: Mandy Hubbard, Emerald City Literary.

  • Cassandra Clare, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE LAST HOURS Brigid Kemmerer has woven her compelling heroine into a kinetic tale of the tension between duty, love and trust.
  • Adrienne Young, New York Times Bestselling author of FABLE Immersive and engaging, Defy the Night is a romantic epic that blends magic and politics with a deft hand.
  • #1 New York Times best-selling author Jennifer L. Armentrout Defy the Night is a twisty, edge-of-your-seat fantasy that has it all—outlaws, court intrigue, rebellions, and romance. Addicting from page one!
  • Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series A captivating combination of thrilling adventure, swoon-worthy romance, and royal intrigue, Defy the Night is everything I crave in a fantasy romance.
  • Isabel Ibañez, author of WOVEN IN MOONLIGHT, a William C. Morris award finalist Defy the Night has everything you want in a story: a complex, dangerous world where anyone could be your enemy, a tortured hero, and my personal favorite: plenty of kissing. This book is unputdownable.
  • Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of SPIN THE DAWN and SO THIS IS LOVE A high stakes fantasy with heart and originality. Kemmerer is a master of nuance and political intrigue, and readers will fall in love with her characters while they race through the pages.
  • New York Times bestselling author, Mary E. Pearson A breathtaking, tender, and fiercely page-turning story, Defy the Night has left me thinking and questioning, which is the best thing any book can do.
  • Foreword Reviews, starred review The multifaceted cast of characters sparkles. . . . A foreboding twist on the tale of Robin Hood, Defy the Night is a promising series debut.
  • Kirkus Reviews The slow-burn romance-between an idealist with straightforward moral beliefs and a pragmatist trapped by duty-will keep the pages turning, as will the scheming of the king's consuls and the rebellion brewing in the background . . . . The personal and the political intertwine in this engaging series opener.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Defy the Night
Defy the Night
Defy the Night Series, Book 1
Brigid Kemmerer
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Defy the Night
Defy the Night
Defy the Night Series, Book 1
Brigid Kemmerer
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Charlotte High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close