Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Once We Were
Cover of Once We Were
Once We Were
The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2
Borrow Borrow Borrow
In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and...
In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and the fight for hybrid freedom.

    Addie and Eva escaped imprisonment at a horrific psychiatric hospital. Now they should be safe, living among an underground hybrid movement. But safety is starting to feel constricting. Faced with the possibility of being in hiding forever, the girls are eager to help bring about change—now. The answer seems to lie in a splinter group willing to go to extremes for hybrid freedom, but as Addie and Eva fall ever deeper into their plans, what they thought was the solution to their problems might just be the thing that destroys everything—including their bond to each other.

About the Author-

  • Kat Zhang is an avid traveler, and after a childhood spent living in one book after another, she now builds stories for other people to visit, including the Hybrid Chronicles.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    October 1, 2013

    Gr 8 Up-Because sisters Addie and Eva grew up hiding their hybrid nature, they're now learning-along with readers-some of the nuances of what it means for two souls to share one body. Is romance possible with someone always looking over your shoulder? Can a hybrid ever have privacy? What occurs if the two souls disagree? Now that Eva is fully capable of controlling the girls' body, she's unwilling to sit idly by and allow the torture (in the name of science) that happened upon them at the Nornand Clinic happen to other children. As they meet more hybrids, they hear more and more horrific stories of abuse, and they learn of a small faction that wants to take immediate action to stop further mistreatment of hybrid children. Eva is eager to help with this plan, but Addie is unsure as to whether or not what they're planning is ethical. The deeper involved in this small revolution they become, the further apart the siblings begin to grow. Until now, they've never argued about anything this significant, and it's not clear which of the two souls will win control. Zhang has a unique challenge: she must give each character two distinct personalities, which she skillfully manages. While this book lacks some of the freshness of What's Left of Me (HarperCollins, 2012), simply by virtue of being a sequel, the lovely, atmospheric storytelling is still very much present. Zhang has envisioned a complex, unique world and deftly brings it to life.-Heather M. Campbell, formerly at Philip S. Miller Library, Castle Rock, CO

    Copyright 2013 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    September 1, 2013
    In the sequel to What's Left of Me (2012), Eva and Addie must decide whether the government's latest anti-hybrid initiative justifies an act of terrorism as a response. Since their dramatic escape from the Nornand Clinic, Eva, Addie and their fellow fugitives have hidden with other hybrids--people whose bodies are shared by two souls--and grown frustrated by their rescuers' cautious ways. Meanwhile, the sisters' increasing independence is testing their bond: Eva longs to pursue her romance with Ryan, while Addie has her own secrets. Tensions reach a breaking point when the hybrids learn the government is promoting a false surgical cure for their condition. Several call for a violent protest, and they invite Eva and Addie to cast their lots with them. Zhang further develops the dystopia introduced in her first novel with mixed success. Many aspects of its history and politics remain vague, and the new characters are forgettable. Nevertheless, the sisters' ethical dilemma resonates due to the genuine horror of the false cure. Zhang's precise prose skillfully delineates Eva's unique first-person point of view, and the sisters' intense relationship continues to be deeply compelling. Newbies won't find this novel stands alone, but fans will have plenty of reasons to be impatient for the third book in the series. (Dystopian adventure. 13 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2013) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Kirkus Reviews

    Zhang's precise prose skillfully delineates Eva's unique first--person point of view, and the sisters' intense relationship continues to be deeply compelling...fans will have plenty of reasons to be impatient for the third book in the series.

  • School Library Journal

    Lovely, atmospheric storytelling...Zhang has envisioned a complex, unique world and deftly brings it to life.

  • Lauren DeStefano, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of WITHER

    Praise for WHAT'S LEFT OF ME: "A shockingly unique story that redefines what it means to be human."

  • Publishers Weekly (starred review)

    "Zhang's concept is original and provocative; the deep bond between Eva and Addie (the shifts between I, we, and she in Eva's narration are especially haunting) and the mystery about why their society is so desperate to 'fix' hybrids are riveting."

  • Lissa Price, international bestselling author of STARTERS

    "A deeply original tale of longing for identity; so skillfully crafted, the words float above the page."

  • Kirkus Reviews

    "An unsettling dystopian adventure of two souls trapped in a single body."

  • School Library Journal

    "Uniquely imagined...Zhang's prose is lovely, and the plot is compelling to the last page."

  • Booklist Online

    "the siblings' desire for autonomy is intriguing, as is the exploration of the politics of enacting change."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Once We Were
Once We Were
The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2
Kat Zhang
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Once We Were
Once We Were
The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2
Kat Zhang
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close