Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Unplugged
Cover of Unplugged
Unplugged
Borrow Borrow Borrow
In the tradition of M. T. Anderson's Feed and Scott Westerfeld's Uglies, Unplugged is the first in a provocative and compelling new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas.Humanity is split into a...
In the tradition of M. T. Anderson's Feed and Scott Westerfeld's Uglies, Unplugged is the first in a provocative and compelling new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas.Humanity is split into a...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • In the tradition of M. T. Anderson's Feed and Scott Westerfeld's Uglies, Unplugged is the first in a provocative and compelling new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas.

    Humanity is split into a dying physical world for the poor and an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy. Years ago, Skylar Cruz crossed over to the App World for a chance at a better life, and her family stayed behind in the Real World. Now Skye is a virtual teenager, surrounded by glamorous apps and expensive downloads—yet she's never felt like she fits in, and all she wants is to see her mother and sister again.

    Skye is desperate and ready to risk everything to unplug from the App World. But she soon learns that the only person she can trust—in either world, including friends and family—is herself.

About the Author-

  • Donna Freitas is the author of the Unplugged series as well as several other young adult and middle grade novels. Donna is also a professor at Fairleigh Dickinson's MFA program and at Hofstra's Honors College. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. You can visit her online at www.donnafreitas.com.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    April 18, 2016
    In the not-so-distant future of Freitas’s fast-paced series opener, the world is divided. Those with resources live virtually, plugged into an App World whose inhabitants look vaguely similar (even sharing the same skin color, “Caucasian 4.0”) and use Apps to differentiate themselves; those without live in the corporeal Real World, left to deal with disease, poverty, and physicality. Skylar Cruz, 16, is one of the rare “Singles,” children chosen to live virtually in exchange for their families’ service as Keepers—caregivers to the bodies left behind by the virtual citizens. When the borders between the worlds are suddenly closed and the prime minister’s son, Rain, is left on the wrong side, Skye is recruited to bring him back. But the Real World is in the midst of revolution, and Skye has become an important symbol for both sides. Freitas (The Tenderness of Thieves), a PW contributor, invokes several recognizable dystopian tropes—including an expectations-defying heroine, a world facing drastic change, and an impossible love triangle—as she explores interconnections among race, commerce, and technology. Ages 13–up. Agent: Miriam Altschuler, DeFiore and Company.

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2016

    Gr 8 Up-In this first book of an exciting dystopian sci-fi series, Skylar, almost 17, a Single, has been plugged into the virtual App World nonstop since she was five. In the Real World, epidemics have killed much of the population, resulting in an economic divide between the unplugged poor, who can't afford expensive apps, and the wealthy plugged in, who can. Skye can't wait for her Service, the time when a 17-year-old can unplug from the App World and return to the Real World. She's desperate to find her real mother and sister, who stayed in the Real World as Keepers to allow her a better life in the App World with a surrogate family. When the prime minister announces that the border between the real and virtual world is closed and future Service is canceled, Skye is devastated. Then she discovers there's a way she might get what she wants if she can sneak across and bring back Rain, the prime minister's cute son, who's stuck in the Real World. If she fails, she'll virtually die. Skye's drawn into a web of conspiracies, betrayals, lies, and shifting alliances and must rely on her own strength to survive in this intriguing tale with diverse characters.

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    April 15, 2016
    The selfie-tastical virtual world decides to unplug from the physical one, stranding one girl from her family--and from the truth.At a young age, Skye's family plugged her into the App World, a fully digital existence for the consciousnesses of the fortunate while their physical bodies are tended to by the less-privileged Keepers. Skye's been looking forward to her Service, the required time digital citizens spend in the Real World, when she'll finally see her mother and sister again. But a mysterious situation involving disgruntled Keepers results in the cancellation of Service, the closure of the border between the worlds, and even more extreme actions to separate the digital from the physical. Skye, whose distress is apparent, is recruited by a sketchy figure for a mission to the Real World--giving her the opportunity to illegally unplug into the physical world. Skye finds that things are far more complicated than she could have imagined, and twist after twist leave her unsure whom to trust. Readers may become frustrated by her reluctance to probe characters who are clearly keeping information from her. Additionally, there is looseness to the worldbuilding, involving race--in App World, everybody is Caucasian 4.0--and economics, which may be addressed in the sequel. At heart, this is an action novel about capitalism taken too far.Despite imperfections, one of the more ambitious and thought-provoking entries in a crowded genre. (Science fiction/dystopia. 12 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Kirkus Reviews Praise for UNPLUGGED: "Ambitious and thought-provoking."
  • Kass Morgan, New York Times bestselling author of The 100 "Chilling and addictive, UNPLUGGED will change the way you look at the world . . .and how you look at yourself."
  • Publishers Weekly "A fast-paced series opener. An expectations-defying heroine, a world facing drastic change, and an impossible love triangle."
  • School Library Journal "The first book of an exciting dystopian sci-fi series. An intriguing tale with diverse characters. This work will appeal to gamers and to those who enjoyed Dan Wells's Bluescreen or M.T. Anderson's Feed."
  • Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "A fast-paced, plot-driven dystopian story that explores the interconnectivity between beauty, commercialism, race, and technology. Thought-provoking, relevant, and promising. Pacing is excellent with lots of action, twists, and turns."
  • Jenny Han, bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series Praise for THE SURVIVAL KIT: "As fragile and lovely as a rose."
  • Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of WICKED Praise for THE POSSIBILITIES OF SAINTHOOD: "Behold: A rare bloom of a book . . . THE POSSIBILITIES OF SAINTHOOD, while never gloomy or dogmatic, is a literary work of mercy. Let us rejoice and be glad."
  • Sara Zarr, author of National Book Award finalist STORY OF A GIRL Praise for THIS GORGEOUS GAME: "A remarkable book that will speak not just to teens, but to women of all ages."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Unplugged
Unplugged
Donna Freitas
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Unplugged
Unplugged
Donna Freitas
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close