Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Uninvited
Cover of Uninvited
Uninvited
Uninvited Series, Book 1
Borrow Borrow Borrow
From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and...
From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

    Davy had everything--a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard--but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school and avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become.

    Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions--not the code embedded in her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?

About the Author-

  • Sophie Jordan grew up on a pecan farm in the Texas hill country, where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's also the New York Times bestselling author of Avon historical romances and the Firelight series. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows.

Reviews-

  • DOGO Books vickyh - My friend recommended this book to me, and after reading it, I found it extremely thought-provoking, it makes me questioned about life, about trust, about friend, and everything else that I believed in. Davy has a perfect life, until she was tested positive for HTS, which is also known as the kill gene, she is labeled as a murder, who everyone is afraid of. I think it is really unfair for Davy, just because she has the kill gene, doesn’t mean she is going to g hurt anyone or even commit murder., Davy keeps believing that she is not the kind of person, I really appreciate how Davy does not letting her gene defines who she is. is, she fights till the end, I admire her courage and bravery. She believed in herself that she will be able to undefined the identity of being a carriers. I really like a quotes inside the book, “Never forget that we are more than the genetic side. We can be more than labels applied to is. We can be more than what others whisper behind our backs. Free will exists. We need to choose to be the best we can be and we need to help others to do the same. Believe in yourself. ” This quotes is relatable, you shouldn’t let anything define who you are, since you’re the one who know you the best, and you shouldn’t let others choose your future.
  • Publisher's Weekly

    January 27, 2014
    Merging a contemporary setting with a believable speculative premise, Jordan (the Firelight series) introduces Davy Hamilton, who appears to have it all—a gorgeous boyfriend, a future at Julliard—until she is diagnosed with "Homicidal Tendency Syndrome," a genetic predisposition toward violence. She is "uninvited" from her private high school, assigned an unsympathetic caseworker, and forced to attend school in a "Cage" with other HTS kids. Among them are the sweet, smart Gil, and Sean, a lifetime "carrier" who's more protective than violent. Jordan skillfully hints at a rapidly disintegrating, near-future America, using chilling chapter interstitials—texts, fragments of interviews, lists—that illustrate a society prepared to sacrifice civil rights for an illusion of safety. Are those diagnosed with the HTS gene really destined to kill, or is their behavior the outcome of being treated like criminals? The first half is slow, as Davy feels the impact that the HTS label has on her privileged life, but the action becomes more immediate when Davy, Sean, and Gil are recruited for an elite government school designed to exploit their violent instincts. Ages 13–up. Agent: Maura Kye-Casella, Don Congdon Associates.

  • School Library Journal

    April 1, 2014

    Gr 8 Up-High school senior Davy has her future all planned out until genetic testing determines that she has Homicidal Tendency Syndrome. In this near-future dystopia, people with this "kill gene" are more likely to commit murder and are isolated from the rest of the population. Essentially, those who possess the "kill gene" are treated in a manner that would inspire thoughts of murder in even the most mild mannered teens. Davy is expelled from her prep school and sent to a public school that is equipped to handle her condition. Her relationship with her boyfriend disintegrates slowly, and her relationship with her family changes. There is also a dangerous but attractive bad boy in her new school. The stakes are raised when those who have the kill gene are institutionalized, and Davy must, yet again, adjust to a very different life than she had planned. The inevitable sequel will no doubt uncover government corruption at the highest levels. While the author relies too heavily on telling rather than showing, this is an entertaining read once disbelief has been suspended. Jarringly, the romantic scenes, while not explicit, use the vocabulary of more adult romance. Teens hungry for this genre will not mind and, in fact, will eagerly await the sequel. Uninvited will be appreciated by fans of Suzanne Young's The Program (S. & S., 2013) and similar romantic dystopian titles.-Kristin Anderson, Columbus Metropolitan Library System, OH

    Copyright 2014 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Carrie Ryan, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series UNINVITED asks the question: will you let the world define who you are or will you choose to define yourself? Put simply: I loved this book!
  • Rachel Vincent, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author A riveting, disconcerting vision of a near–future corrupted by genetic profiling. Thoroughly unputdownable.
  • Colleen Houck, author of NEW YORK TIMES bestselling TIGER’S CURSE Praise for the Firelight series: "The Firelight series is a rare sparkling gem. I delved into the mystical world and discovered a fast–paced, gripping story. ...Anytime my readers ask for a book recommendation, I always say, 'Read Sophie Jordan!'"
  • Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy Kiersten White, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of PARANORMALCY "Firelight soars to dizzying heights, combining forbidden love, scorching romance, and thrilling danger."
  • Kerrelyn Sparks, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FIRELIGHT "Magnificent and masterful! A world so captivating, you'll never want to leave!"
  • Booklist Booklist on FIRELIGHT "Jordan's compelling addition to the supernatural star–crossed lovers theme is equal parts taut suspense and sensuous romance."
  • Kirkus Reviews on FIRELIGHT "Just surrender to the sizzle."
  • Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) on VANISH "This imaginative and intense story leaves you wanting more."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Uninvited
Uninvited
Uninvited Series, Book 1
Sophie Jordan
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Uninvited
Uninvited
Uninvited Series, Book 1
Sophie Jordan
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close