Hide Cookie Control notification

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

Close cookie details

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your experience at our website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been stored. You may remove and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to remove them, please see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue using this site, please click here.

  Main Nav
On the Fence
Cover of On the Fence
On the Fence
Borrow Borrow Borrow
She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door.With three older brothers, Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, has always been more comfortable calling the shots on a basketball court than flirting with the...
She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door.With three older brothers, Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, has always been more comfortable calling the shots on a basketball court than flirting with the...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door.

    With three older brothers, Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, has always been more comfortable calling the shots on a basketball court than flirting with the opposite sex. So when her police officer dad demands she get a summer job to pay for the latest in a long line of speeding tickets, she's more than a little surprised to find herself working at a chichi boutique and going out with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game. Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with her neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden, sitting back-to-back against the fence that separates them. Braden may know her better than anyone. But there's a secret Charlie's keeping that even he hasn't figured out--she's fallen for him. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

    On the Fence is a sweet and satisfying read about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect it.

About the Author-

  • Kasie West lives with her family in central California, where the heat tries to kill her with its 115-degree stretches. She graduated from Fresno State University with a BA degree that has nothing to do with writing.

Reviews-

  • DOGO Books ellabella_m - I just like reading this type of stuff. ( little heart if my laptop let me...)
  • Publisher's Weekly

    May 12, 2014
    Sixteen-year-old tomboy Charlie Reynolds undergoes a summer of soul-searching and growth in West’s (Split Second) fourth book for teens. Raised with plenty of male influences—three brothers, her next door neighbor Braden, and a widowed police officer father—Charlie is a star athlete and well-protected from the outside world, especially when it comes to dating. Recently, Charlie has been crushing on Braden, and she’s also getting attention for her looks at her new job at a clothing store. In short, Charlie’s sense of identity is in upheaval, her intense workouts aren’t sufficient relief, and her constant nightmares about her mother’s fatal car accident are stirring up repressed memories. Nightly, Charlie and Braden find solace in sneaking out to talk to each other (Braden’s father is drinking a lot), but Charlie fears that he will never see her as anything more than just a buddy. West builds enjoyable tension and absorbing chemistry between Charlie and Braden, and her depiction of growing up surrounded by brothers is thoroughly enjoyable. Ages 13–up. Agent: Michelle Wolfson, Wolfson Literary Agency.

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2014

    Gr 8 Up-West crafts a beautiful story that will hook lovers of contemporary teen romance. Ever since her mom died, Charlie, a 16-year-old tomboy who loves all things sports, spends most of her time playing pick-up games with her three brothers and next-door neighbor Braden. But when Charlie's dad makes her get a job to pay off a speeding ticket, she lands a job at a clothing store where she must model make-up and be more feminine than she's ever cared to be. Soon she's in over her head with lies-lying to her dad, her boss, and a cute boy who's never seen the tomboy side of her. The only thing that saves her are her late night fence chats with Braden, who she is slowly beginning to fall in love with but can't risk losing. This tale is eloquently written and goes deeper than most teen romances dare to go. For fans of Susane Colasanti and Stephanie Perkins.-Candyce Pruitt-Goddard, Hartford Public Library, CT

    Copyright 2014 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Daisy Whitney, author of THE MOCKINGBIRDS and WHEN YOU WERE HERE

    Praise for THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US: "THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US shines! This book is rich with sparkling dialogue, clever wit and sweet romance."

  • Kirkus Reviews

    "An antidote to dystopian and post--apocalyptic fiction, this Cinderella story is sweet and hopeful."

  • School Library Journal

    The charming story is beautifully written, and the characters are well developed. West's novel is sweet and captivating.

  • Kiersten White, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of PARANORMALCY

    Praise for PIVOT POINT "An expertly plotted, deliciously clever story."

  • Robison Wells, author of VARIANT

    "PIVOT POINT is at once tense and romantic, challenging and engaging. It's a truly remarkable debut."

  • Publishers Weekly (starred review)

    "West's premise is a winner, and Addie is the kind of heroine readers would want as a best friend--loyal, unpretentious, and thoughtful....What truly makes West's story memorable, however, is Addie's wry humor...and the book's fascinating exploration of how life can change with one simple choice."

  • Kirkus Reviews

    "West's debut showcases riveting storytelling."

  • Elana Johnson, author of POSSESSION

    "With superb storytelling, a masterful blend of paranormal and normal, a helping of wit and humor, and a mouthwatering romance, PIVOT POINT is one of the most delicious books I've read."

  • School Library Journal

    "West has created an intricately woven story of two possible futures. This debut novel...is a welcome change."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
On the Fence
On the Fence
Kasie West
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
On the Fence
On the Fence
Kasie West
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close